En Route

28/07/2015

While strolling to a rendezvous of some importance I walked along Market Street in the St. Lawrence area, deemed Old Town, if I’m not mistaken. My nostrils were treated to aromas most delicious from the upscale Pizzeria, boutique Hindi, Sea Food cove, Heath Food cafe and Latin biased stylings. Alas, up onto Front I was assaulted by emissions automotive and chemically enhanced cigarette-tobacco odours. Can’t be altogether healthy now, can we?

 

But, what steadily caught my attention were the people going ‘bye’, hurrying/scurrying home round about me, to and fro. Still, the contemplations arising were of observing exchanges between the homeless/street-people who have their systems of interaction/kindness, not excluding homage paid by visitors. Like the one I saw ‘donating’ a beer to a stationary imbiber engaged in his trade for acquiring his regular finances.

 

Then, there were those who just came and went accordingly/haphazardly, as per their predilections already established/predetermined, yet unknown to this observer. What did occur to me was the age variance of these pedestrians, as I wondered about their personal stories. There were those who sped along as if behind the times, needing to catch up; there were those of nonchalance, their cares albeit substantial were resigned to, due to their realities at play; there were those who seemed lost to their goings on, as if no matter what/how they tried the results would never match imaginings intended; all of various ages, which made observations all the more intriguing.

 

I looked on wondering at the phases and stages that brought each into view. Their agonies and ecstasies, shared and/or in aloneness, some call ‘private’; and, the scrutiny each has endured/survived that remains invisible and most often unconsidered as essential and valued content. I intone, we’ve come a long way (evolved/civilized) as a specie yet regressed in our humanity unless a calamity emerges to level the playing field, for a time; then, it’s back to private worlds, as usual.

 

There’s the dying, a process which we’re experiencing, and the death which is inevitable and fought against as if there’ll be winners! So much to ‘sense’ while among the living, yet the choices biased in the seven deadly sins, termed ‘ego’, is hyped by mind-boggling detractors called innovations/inventions, new and improved, upgrades which keep us unbalanced while we attempt to deconstruct our getting-to-here process, as time goes bye.

 

So long as we refrain from laying the blame out there, we may have a chance. A chance for what, after all I’ve already stated we’re all going to die? We may just have a chance at enjoying ‘heaven on earth’ through our senses, while we still can. But, what do I know? I’m still caught in the vortex of influences I’d erroneously accepted as viable, valuable and essential to my being here. This state is perplexing, a conundrum if not an enigma, all the while a contradiction – a paradox from which the solution, balance/stability appear stagnant. The argument to continue with business as usual, contributing to our inevitable end by accepting unveiled influences.

 

The church bell chimes the hour of meeting and I rise from my contemplative stone-seat to rendezvous on schedule. Maybe, I’ll observe you on my next timely rendezvous?

 

 

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Awaiting Godot

2 Responses to “En Route”

  1. THIS PRETTY MUCH COVERS IT, I START AT THE RCYC TOMORROW, DIM-SUM-SOON.My nostrils were treated to aromas most delicious from the upscale Pizzeria, boutique Hindi, Sea Food cove, Heath Food cafe and Latin biased stylings. Alas, up onto Front I was assaulted by emissions automotive and chemically enhanced cigarette-tobacco odours. Can’t be altogether healthy now, can we?

    Like

Leave a Reply

