Projected Interiors

21/09/2015

It was a relatively calm Sunday morning when the radio announced this was the last day for the Ukrainian Festival on Bloor W, and the Annual Outdoor Art Show in Toronto’s City Hall! Damn, I cannot miss the art show, yet another year! Well, knowing my predilection for art exhibitions, especially when it can be experienced nearby and getting there on foot without stressful journeying, I was sold on where my legs would transport me. It would be a few hours before I could get a move on, days routine contributing in the process.

 

Well, it was 2:30pm before I exited my living quarters, a bit later before exiting the building after greetings and verbal exchanges with friendly neighbours and concierge. In due time I came across a few items on my way worth noting…

 

 

Condo Residence Entranceway

Condo Residence Entranceway

 

 

 

A few steps north

A few steps north

 

 

 

Two-blocks to the west

Two-blocks to the west

 

 

 

44. Weekend OverFlow

Another block west

 

Whereupon, St. James Cathedral announced 2:25pm, as I strolled through its park on my way towards Victoria St to discover…

 

 

Road Closure in progress

Road Closure in progress

 

Turning westward onto Queen St towards Bay Street, I approached my intended experience.

 

 

Toronto Outdoor Art Show  2015

Toronto Outdoor Art Show 2015

 

I was, as usual, taking my time internalizing the internal expressions of those more dedicated than I. Fact remains, unknown to many, I was one of the first to have exhibited and sell a piece (charcoal drawing) 40yrs ago! I simply had little in the way of knowing what I had, could manage given the circumstance in which I lived then. Nonetheless, I managed along my way enjoying the path I tread. There were so many, I was becoming overwhelmed. The feeling of saturation began to grow as I approached this 3dimensional piece called, The Void’s Hierarchy by Elyse Brodeur-Magna:

 

 

Looking from beneath

Looking from directly-beneath

 

 

Outer angle bottom-perspective

Outer angle bottom-perspective

 

 

Standing back

Standing back

 

Much was said about this piece, least of all what each person brought to it on that afternoon. I meandered further to discover this piece getting equal attention, a tourist memory piece…

 

 

Pan-Am/Para Pan-Am fixture

Pan-Am/Para Pan-Am backdrop

 

Not to demean this recent fixture, but the temporary show was in an unnatural competition albeit a ‘respite’ to many. It was a very nice day, climate-wise, and many attempted a gourmand approach due to the show’s duration. I was one who was aware of sensory limitations and begged myself off knowing this was a 3day viewing event, not a 3day event to be viewed in a day unless preference ruled one’s viewing pleasure.

 

One of my take-aways was comparing the unique quality of each artist/exhibitor with socio-political views making up our society made worse by religious arrogance, which was exemplified by critical expressions heard. Art-expressing/imitating-Life, being a catalyst for Life-expressing/imitating-Art without reflection; thereby, lacking in improving the Ways of Life for all.

 

Well, I made my saturated way out of the milieu towards Queen Street to satiate my rising hunger pangs. The gulls were in their usual pandemonium as I passed a father with a stroller. I looked skywards to view this intriguing sight over The Sheraton~

 

 

Monolith Halo

Monolith Halo

 

 

After an appreciative pause, I went on my way westward towards an undetermined destination. Along the way, across the street I spied a site I seldom record, a privacy issues; but, this time – on this day, it seemed apropos…

 

 

Indication of Life

Indication of Life

 

… as it placed the preceding exhibition in the position of being an Oasis in spite of its varied economic positioning for each artist/exhibitor, politics notwithstanding. Not even a block away this site was encountered, with all its trimmings~

 

 

Development Intentions

Development Intentions

 

 

Tagged proposal

Tagged proposal

 

 

Sales Office Maquette

Sales Office Maquette

 

The grand scheme of things are at play before our very eyes and we’re much to self-absorbed to recognize the import, much less realize our participation in these goings on. So, I continued onward heading toward developing famished feeling requiring a decision for satiation. I turned down John St. and looked back to see this site, one of many but this implied more than the obvious.

 

Which Way!??

Which Way!??

 

And, so, after meandering about the downtown area, and a few inquiring excursions which included telephone calls, I elected to treat myself to a meal at the TIFF Canteen. A place where the food is good, somewhat pricy on occasion but manageable on others such as this one. I settled in to enjoying a salmon over noodles with asparagus and cabbage fare. Very tasty and affordable, considering. This wasn’t the end go it, not by a long walk back.

 

I ventured back towards along King, eastward to Princess whereupon I wanted to close this day with reading the Sunday paper, while enjoying a warm beverage as the day was sinking into a 9C evening after sunny a 21C. So, I found myself sitting in the window doing as intended in the Aroma Espresso Bar, while occasionally viewing pleasant interruptions of passersby, as well as one of the usual scenes…

 

 

One of those days

One of those days

 

There you have it, an impromptu/random/spontaneous Sunday afternoon, downtown Toronto.

Leave a Reply

