FINGERING

19/10/2016

Lately, at least for me anyway, I’ve seen it advertised to “Not use anything to clean the inside of one’s ears”! Well, too little too late, as I’ve been doing just that since childhood with either a hair-pin or a Q-Tip. But, that’s not the whole story, which began thus…

 

When I was just an infant, our mother was at work and my sister was was a babe in someone’s arms, somewhere. As I was on my own, I was to discover I had an itch I couldn’t reach to scratch. It was an itch situated deep within my left-ear canal. Subsequently, I felt I was tasked with solving this problem and, with no one around for consultation, I took matters into my own hands, literally.

 

After attempting to use my little finger on my little hand, it became clear my ear was likewise little and, therefore, too small for the little finger I attempted to use to get at whatever was so irritating inside my ear. I looked about and, finding no hair-pin to use, I elected to devise an implement from paper. I rolled a section of a piece of paper into a cone-shaped instrument and proceeded to work it down into my left-ear canal. Wait, maybe it was the right-ear canal?

 

 

2. Early Walking phase

 

 

Upon attempting to remove said cone-shaped-instrument, I lost hold of it and it became buried in my right-ear canal. What to do. I thought I could somehow remove it, by either gingerly prying the end tip of the paper-cone against the side wall of my ear canal, or using the blunt end of a pin to acquire said same result. Both attempts only resulted in sending the cone-shaped paper device further into my ear, resulting in me feeling despondent to the point of panic setting in.

 

After exhausting possible avenues of resolution, I elected to come clean and reveal my dilemma to an adult in the vicinity who became more alarmed than I, panicking at possible scenarios of which I had not even considered to be aware. Our mother was called, and I was taken to the hospital, a familiar place in recovering from periodic asthma episodes. The doctor arrived, looked into the problematic ear and proceeded to acquire a suitable apparatus to remove said piece of paper.

 

He removed the cone-shaped paper, saying something about my curious effort to scratch an itch in my left/right ear-canal, showed it to me and our mother who was relieved at my escaping more serious injury. The doctor placed the cone-shaped paper in my hand, I thanked him and home we went. Along the way home, all I could do, as I looked down on the cone-shaped paper in my hand, was think about the itch that opened the avenue to my hospital adventure which no longer existed, and that was just the beginning of my upcoming life experiences.

Leave a Reply

